Espresso Cupcakes

I’ve been waiting a while to get back into the Alphabakes challenge… the month always seems to have passed before I have had time to bake something with the chosen letter. This toddler of mine is keeping me busy.

This month the chosen letter with which to bake is ‘E’.

I have chosen some Espresso cupcakes. The recipe comes from How to be a Domestic Goddess by Nigella Lawson… oh Nigella I am sorry I haven’t baked from your book for a while, you used to be my bible but I have deviated recently. Nigella never seems to let me down. It’s also been a while since I’ve done cupcakes.

I had planned to bake this the day before but I realised I had bought ground espresso not instant espresso that the recipe called for. A quick trip to the supermarket and I came home with something more instant… but I am not quite sure if this is really instant Espresso… Barista Style Instant Coffee.. but I am going with it.

photo(1)

I had somewhat of an issue with the dark muscovado sugar I had in the cupboard… it was a bit solid. The packet states leave overnight covered by a damp tea towel to soften, obviously I needed it the moment I took it out of the cupboard. Don’t ask me how I did it… it took a while, but I obtained the required amount of sugar in the end. Anyone know how to soften it up quick smart do let me know!

The recipe calls for mixing butter and dark muscovado sugar, followed with eggs. At this stage things looked a bit unappealing!

photo(2)

Then adding flour, cocoa and instant espresso coffee powder. Finally some melted dark chocolate was added into the mix and thinned with milk.

After baking 15 minutes these babies were done. I quite quickly sampled and oh Nigella, they are lovely and light in texture and so intensly coffee and not sweet (which I quite like). I have been strictly decaffeinated as I am pregnant and having consumed 2 (perhaps 3 by the time the evening is over), I am not sure how much caffeine I have taken in.. on top of the chocolate in it too… ho hum.

Once cooled I melted dark chocolate with butter and poured it onto them to form a nice flat surface (with a bit of cake shaving and hoovering up). Nigella calls for instant espresso powder in the chocolate but I decided I had probably quite enough coffee kick in them given above.

I think they are quite lovely.

IMG_7649a

And so I hereby enter this into February Alphabakes hosted by The more than occasional baker and Caroline Makes

2 thoughts on “Espresso Cupcakes

  1. I love coffee bakes and could really do with one of these right now! I’m afraid I don’t have any clever solutions for softening sugar – I usually give it a bash and pop it in the mixer. Thanks for taking the time to participate in AlphaBakes.

  2. Pingback: Instant Espresso Cupcakes and Coconut Macaroons | Wild about baking

Leave a Reply

