A request from Mr Wildaboutbaking

I had a request for a good old jam-filled victoria sponge from Mr Wildaboutbaking. I also had a new 6inch cake tin to try out so I was happy to oblige. I based this on a sponge recipe in the Primrose Bakery cookbook. However, I adapted it to base it on 175g of flour to make a cake of the right size to fit my 6inch cake tin.

175g unsalted butter

175g caster sugar

165g self-raising flour

10g cornflour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2.5 tbsp semi-skimmed millk

Cream butter and sugar in mixer. Add the eggs, one at a time and mix. Mix in 1/3 of flour followed by 1/3 of milk/vanilla and alternate until all added. Bake at 160C in Fan oven for around 40minutes or so until done.

I made some strawberry jam with some fresh strawberries. Sliced the cake in half to fill with jam and dusted the top with icing sugar. simple yet the best!

Strawberry Jam Victoria Sponge

 

As I made the strawberry jam myself from scratch I have decided to link this into Made with love Mondays featured on Javelin Warrior’s blog.

 

 

One thought on “A request from Mr Wildaboutbaking

  1. I love cakes filled with jam – somehow they always seem moister than cakes made with layers of icing… Thanks for linking up, and if you have a recipe for fresh strawberry jam, I would LOVE to see it at some point b/c I have yet to attempt this 🙂

Leave a Reply

