Lemony-Lemon Biscuits

So here is my entry for the Alphabakes blog challenge for February. The aim is to bake something with an ingredient that begins with the letter L …………. I have chosen Lemons.

I did say that I was going to give myself an extra challenge to make decorated cookies each month representing the chosen ingredients to practice my decorating skills. Well, I realised with Lemons I could combine the two and I decided to make lemony biscuits in the shape of lemon segments decorated with lemon icing. The inspiration came from a picture I saw on the web somewhere of biscuits decorated to look like slices of lime to go with cocktail cookies (here actually). However, I soon realised there was a bit of a discrepancy between what was in my head and what I could actually achieve with my current decorating and piping skills, but then that’s the aim of this and these were my first ever flood iced and decorated cookies and I now know how I would do them better next time.

I chose to adapt a butter biscuit recipe from the Nigella Domestic Goddess book. I decided to substitute the vanilla extract for lemon juice and zest. I have only done half the recipe amounts too but tried to make them quite lemony.

Lemony-butter Buiscuits

85g unsalted butter

100g caster sugar

1 egg

1 tsp Lemon juice and zest of 1 lemon

200g plain flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

Cream butter and sugar together and beat in the eggs and lemon juice/zest. Add flour, baking powder and salt and mix to a dough. Put to rest in clingfilm in the fridge for 1 hour. I cut out circles and semi-circles and some free hand lemons. Bake at 160C fan oven for 12 minutes.

Baked biscuits

Once cool I used royal icing to outline the lemon segments and then some Lemon flood icing to fill (I used glace icing so I could use the remaining lemon juice to make the icing lovely and lemony).

flood icing

I then added  royal icing piping detail in yellow or white. I have realised that with piping I need to use a nozzle in order to get a consistent line. I know you can just snip the end of a hand-made baking parchment piping bag but I find that it gets bigger and squarer as I go along. I only have 1 icing nozzle and therefore had to use the no-nozzle method for the white icing, hence the inconsistency in my piping.

adding detail

All done just in time for afternoon tea.

Yum!

and so I hereby submit this to the alphabakes challenge hosted this month by The more than occasional baker (in collaboration with caroline makes). This is exciting!

6 thoughts on “Lemony-Lemon Biscuits

  1. These look amazing!! I think you did a FABULOUS job with the piping. They are so super cute, I’m going to have to steal this idea one day! Thank you so much for entering into AlphaBakes 🙂

  2. These look so good. Please, can you tell me how to make flood icing? YouTube seems to want me to make it out of icing that I have bought in a tub from the shops.

  3. Thank you both for your comments! It’s very exciting that I am starting to get views on my blog.
    I’ve amended this post as I found the website I took my inspiration from – you will soon see my standard is somewhat lower than these beautiful cookies. It actually has instructions how to do them and a link to a royal icing recipe for flood icing. Although I used Royal icing (with meri-white meringue powder) just to do the piping and flooded them with just basic icing sugar/lemon juice mixed together icing so it was lemony.

  4. Thank you for your reply! I admit to having a minor cheat, I have bought a white ‘icing pen’ to do the outlines. My hands aren’t good with piping bags at all but I think I can cope with the flood icing. I must make these soon! I have a jar of lemon juice in the fridge from some Persian/Meyer lemons my mum sent me and it is SO lovely. Just the thing for these cookies.

Leave a Reply

