Scones

This month’s Tea Time Treats challenge is SCONES.

Last month I entered my chocolate-lemon heart biscuits and featured in their very bursting full round-up of romantic dishes on What Kate Baked. I do want to try some of the other recipes featured there. This month challenge is hosted by Karen from Lavender and Lovage.

I had a friend visiting for the weekend so it seemed the perfect opportunity to make some scones. I also had a Dan Lepard recipe I had cut out of the paper some time ago that I’ve been wanting to try. So I did.

Vanilla and Almond Scones. recipe here

They are made with cream and yogurt, flavoured with vanilla, and topped with some flaked almonds (or chopped up hazelnuts in this case as I mistakenly found my store cupboard bare of almonds midway through the bake, but shhhhh don’t tell anyone.)

just in time for tea.

We had them with butter and raspberry jam or lemon curd. Alongside some “Scarlett Velvet” cupcakes my friend had baked inspired by my new baby daughter Scarlett. These were the first red velvet cakes I have ever tried and they were fantastic. They were also vegan.

my friend baked Scarlett Velvet cupcakes. Yummy

 

So, that’s my sweet scone recipe… watch this space; I have a savory scone recipe up my sleeve.

3 thoughts on “Scones

  1. These scones look absolutely divine! What lovely ingredients,bet they were perfect with a cuppa too. Thanks so much for entering into Tea Time Treats and the scones challenge….cannot wait to see your savoury scones next! Karen

Leave a Reply

