Weekly Bake Off – Lemon Yogurt Cake

I’ve decided to enter the Weekly Bake Off. Amy is working her way through baking all 100 recipes in Mary Berry’s 100 Cakes and Bakes. Each week a different recipe is chosen and those who want to Bake!

So I ordered my copy off amazon and waited for it to arrive. I was pleasantly surprised to see it was only ickle and so I didn’t need to feel guilty about filling the shelf with yet another baking book. This week the recipe was a Lemon yogurt cake.

My week has been a bit full on this week starting to wean my baby girl. It’s been all pureeing and spoon feeding food onto her face. What with then clearing up after all the pureeing I hadn’t much time to get going on the baking. But after a long day yesterday I decided to unwind with a little baking after she had gone to bed.

Woody and my scales at the ready

“Woody” at the ready.

I haven’t made a cake in this way before. Start off by mixing egg yolks, butter and sugar.

Then mix in the yogurt.

fold in some whipped egg whites.

Bake and add a lemon icing.

Slice, eat, enjoy!

I’ve seen someone else describe this as their “Tempur” cake because it has a memory foam mattress like texture. That describes it just perfectly. It is quite dense, it’s not a light airy sponge. I think I baked it perfectly actually and this texture is intentional and gives a very moist and very lovely cake. Is it for me though????? not sure.

As a variation I sliced and filled individuals slices with lemon curd too before serving.

I’ve asked Mr Wildaboutbaking to give an objective score on the cake (not my baking success or ability) and he gave this one a ….

3 thoughts on “Weekly Bake Off – Lemon Yogurt Cake

Leave a Reply

