Mmmmmarch Alphabakes

M was the letter of the month.

It’s taken me the whole month to get round to it. Which is quite funny seeing as I was chomping at the bit to find out the letter of the month on the 1st of March. Busy month.

So I chose a Walnut Truffle cake using Mascarpone cheese. Recipe again is a Dan Lepard recipe from the newspaper and can be found online here.

Quite an interesting recipe which requires blitzing walnuts, sugar and cocoa.

Add in mascarpone, eggs and vanilla and melted chocolate to get a very liquid mix.

I used all dark chocolate rather than diluting it with white chocolate so it was intense and deep. Just what I like in a chocolate cake.

Hoewever, I got a little impatient waiting for it to cool completely before taking out of the tin and did a little exploratory pushing up of the base, but WHOOPS!!! the base tips up and out falls the cake. Noooooooooooooooo!

What a mess…

Splat!

What a glorious chocolatey mess….. all the better to eat it all up!

I will be making this again – but listening to Dan next time when he says “leave to cool in the tin completely!”

 

2 thoughts on “Mmmmmarch Alphabakes

  1. Oh no – I did something similar last week – my sandwich cake had to become a single layer cake instead! This sounds delicious and who cares a bout a few crumbs really?

  2. Thank you so much for entering this to AlphaBakes. I love cheesecake but have never tried making it with mascarpone. How is it different to using cream cheese? I’m always too impatient and/or never follow instructions properly.

Leave a Reply

