Gone Diving!

I decided to make a novelty birthday cake for a friend this week. He is into diving and so I went with a diving theme and am very pleased with how it turned out. I really enjoyed making it too.

finished cake complete with sand

I made a plain sponge cake that I filled with Raspberry Jam and buttercream (and was pleased that the final iced cake had no hint that it was sliced in half or seam where it was filled so I will definitely fill a cake again).

The fishes etc were modelled out of fondant. I had my first go at brush embroidery to make the waves (which yes, go the wrong way) and piped the bubbles with royal icing.

I finished it off with crushed digestives to make perfect sand. I can’t wait for the next event/birthday where I get the excuse to go to town on another cake.

Leave a Reply

