You’ll either love ’em or hate ’em?

Marmite and Red Onion Scones

My Mate!

I’ve another entry for the Scones Tea Time Treats challenge from @KarenBurnsBooth over at lavender and lovage.

The recipe is one I had cut out of the Guardian newspaper and stuck into my growing/bulging baking recipe binder a friend bought me for my birthday one time. Perfect excuse to try it out. you can find it online here

Basically;

Sweat an onion in butter in a pan until soft.

Mix SR flour and wholemeal flour with baking powder and rub in butter. Pour in a marmite/egg/yoghurt/milk mixture along with the onion and mix to a dough. Roll out and cut out your scones.

Enjoy!

My husband and I both had the same query about them… where did the taste of cheese come from? They taste like cheesy scones. Absolutely delicious and not obviously marmitey…. which wouldn’t have been a bad thing at all. I think I recommend and I’ve never really done savoury scones but I will do again.

So, do you think you would Love ’em or hate ’em… tell me your thoughts…

I’ve also realised I can enter a savoury bake into Alphabakes challenge – woo hoo! so I’ve submitted them as a March M entry.


3 thoughts on “You’ll either love ’em or hate ’em?

  1. Thank you so much for entering this to AlphaBakes. I’m in the Marmite lover camp so yes please! I just tried some Marmite truffles from the Chocolate Festival and they were delicious! Wish I’d bought a few more now. Will have to give these scones a go or maybe I could pop round? 😉

Leave a comment